research

How to be the expert: Late medieval, Early Renaissance Avignon/Provence

Subtitle:  NOT EVERYTHING IN THIS PERIOD WITH A FULL SKIRT AND A V NECK IS A BURGUNDIAN.

I am currently working on a full Avignon/provençal 1480s-1510s kit and persona.  I don’t know of anyone in the SCA who does my location and period and what I have to go off of is various “this looks like XYZ” guesses.  Since I’ve only been playing for a year and a half(!), I do have people who have adjacent information who help me with construction and best guesses for patterning.

But, like I said, I’m new.  So, what does a noob who is apparently all by herself in her period/location do when faced with googling for more information and finding her own blog?


RESEARCH.    I’ve been trained in history and archives.  I know how to do this.

First thing you do when you’re interested in a location and period is find the people and places you want to focus on.  So, if you are researching Provence, here’s a list of places.

  • Avignon
  • Var
  • Nice
  • Marseille
  • Cannes
  • Arles
  • Aix-en-Provence
  • Orange
  • Saint-Remy-de-Provence
  • Grasse
  • Roussillion
  • Grimaud
  • Barcelonnette

Major rivers:

  • Rhone
  • Durance
  • Verdon
  • Sorgue
  • Ubaye
  • Arc
  • Argens

Major People:

  • d’Medici (banking)
  • Peruzzi  (Banking family, lost prominence in the 1390s)
  • Bardi (Banking family, lost prominence in the 1390s)
  • Cardinal Guiliano della Rovre  (1474- 1503)
  • Archbishop (?) Antoine Florès (1504-1512)

And then you go off and you find related documents.

  • Boccace, Des cleres et nobles femmes , traduction française anonyme BNF français 599 (Savoy, but hey neighbors)
  • Book of Hours, France, Avignon, circa 1485-1490.  MS M. 348, Morgan Library, New York.
  • Book of Hours, France  MS M.358 Morgan Library, New York.
  • Proverbs et Rimes, The Walter, Baltimore, Maryland.
  • Chansonnier Provençal MS M. 819 Morgan Library, New York.
  • Ovide , Héroïdes, traduction d’ Octavien de Saint-Gelais. 1497.Bibliothèque nationale de France, Département des Manuscrits, Français 875. Bibliothèque nationale de France

This is a very rough draft of the information I’ve found.  As I find more, I’ll continue to add items.

I plan on making my Avignon cota based off of a pattern found in the Queen’s Servants, which is not exactly the same, but similar to the items that you see on working women in the south of France and I’ll let everyone know how that goes in great and unnecessary detail.

 

 

Leave a Reply

